Grow Trucking logo
Grow Trucking truck specs: TX-12 vs Endurant HD transmission comparison

PACCAR TX-12 vs Eaton Endurant HD

Specs, oil interval and warranty compared

Back to Truck Transmission Specs

Transmission comparison

The published specs for the PACCAR TX-12 and the Eaton Endurant HD match on almost every line. Both list 12 forward gears, a 1,850 lb-ft rating, a 657 lb weight, 16 pints of oil and the same gear ratios. Both list 750,000 miles for the oil, and both list a 5-year, 750,000-mile transmission warranty for linehaul. Neither company's pages explain why, so this page does not say how the two are related. What differs is who sells it, the oil Eaton names, and the truck listings.

Figures for TX-12 vs Endurant HD are taken from the makers' own published documents. Last reviewed November 3, 2026.

TX-12 vs Endurant HD: side-by-side specs

SpecPACCAR TX-12Eaton Endurant HD
TypeAutomated manual (AMT)Automated manual (AMT)
Speeds12 forward, 2 reverse12 forward, 1 or 2 reverse
Torque1,850 lb-ft torque capacity1,850 lb-ft maximum engine torque
Weight limit110,000 lb maximum operating weight110,000 lb maximum GCW
Weight657 lb (transmission, clutch and oil)657 lb with a single PTO (660 lb with dual PTO)
Oil capacity16 pints16 pints (7.57 L)
Oil typeNot named in the spec sheet or brochureEaton PS-386
Gear ratios14.43, 11.05, 8.44, 6.46, 4.95, 3.79, 2.91, 2.23, 1.70, 1.30, 1.00, 0.77. Reverse 16.92, 12.95Same ratios. Reverse 16.92, 12.95
Overall ratio18.8518.85:1
Oil intervalFirst oil change at 750,000 milesUp to 750,000 miles
Warranty as printed by the makerTransmission 5 years or 750,000 miles; clutch 3 years or 350,000 milesLinehaul and pickup and delivery: transmission 5 years or 750,000 miles; clutch 3 years or 350,000 miles
Clutch430 mm self-adjusting, greaseless, maintenance freeMaintenance-free diaphragm spring clutch (size not stated)
Engines the maker namesDesigned to work with PACCAR MX engines and axlesNot stated for the HD
TrucksPeterbilt 579 and Kenworth T680, per our model listNot listed. Eaton Cummins says approval goes through the truck maker

Full detail for each transmission: PACCAR TX-12 guide and Eaton Cummins Endurant guide.

What actually decides TX-12 vs Endurant HD?

We do not name a winner in TX-12 vs Endurant HD. There is no independent, like-for-like study of fuel economy or reliability for these transmissions. These are the facts that decide it for a given truck and duty cycle.

The listings are where they differ
PACCAR says it designed the TX-12 to work with its MX engines and axles, and our model list shows it in the Peterbilt 579 and Kenworth T680. Eaton Cummins names no truck models for the Endurant HD. If you want one on a given truck, ask that truck's maker, not the transmission maker.
Do not assume the two are interchangeable
The published numbers match, but no maker page says one can replace the other, or how the two are related. A part, a warranty or a service program that covers one may not cover the other. Ask the dealer before you swap anything.
Find the right oil for the TX-12
Eaton Cummins names its oil, Eaton PS-386. PACCAR's TX-12 spec sheet and brochure give the oil amount, 16 pints, but no oil type. Use the PACCAR service manual or a PACCAR dealer for the approved TX-12 oil.
Look at the PRO and the direct-drive versions
PACCAR also sells a TX-12 PRO, which Peterbilt says supports up to 1,700 lb-ft with the MX-13. The Endurant HD also has an 11-speed direct drive version rated 1,750 lb-ft and 80,000 lb. If you compare used trucks, check which version each one has.

Put your TX-12 vs Endurant HD oil changes on a schedule with the maintenance scheduler. Decode warning lights with the fault code lookup. Before you buy a used truck, run the VIN decoder and the used truck inspection checklist.

More transmission comparisons and guides

TX-12 vs Endurant HD frequently asked questions

Is the PACCAR TX-12 the same as the Eaton Endurant HD?+

The published specs match on almost every line: the same ratios, the same 657 lb weight, 16 pints of oil and a 1,850 lb-ft rating. Neither PACCAR's nor Eaton Cummins's pages say how the two are related, so we can't say they are the same transmission. Ask a dealer for the part numbers of the unit in the truck you are looking at.

Which has the longer oil change interval, the TX-12 or the Endurant HD?+

Both list 750,000 miles. PACCAR says its first oil change is at 750,000 miles. Eaton Cummins lists up to 750,000 miles for the Endurant HD. They are the same figure on the two pages.

Do the TX-12 and the Endurant HD use the same oil?+

Eaton Cummins recommends Eaton PS-386 for the Endurant HD. PACCAR's TX-12 spec sheet and brochure do not name an oil type, only the amount, 16 pints. Ask a PACCAR dealer which oil is approved for the TX-12.

What warranty does the TX-12 have compared with the Endurant HD?+

PACCAR lists 5 years or 750,000 miles on the transmission and 3 years or 350,000 miles on the clutch. For linehaul and pickup and delivery, Eaton Cummins lists the same terms for the Endurant HD. For construction, refuse and agriculture it lists 3 years or 300,000 miles and 2 years or 200,000 miles.

Which trucks have the TX-12 and which have the Endurant HD?+

Our model list shows the TX-12 in the Peterbilt 579 and Kenworth T680. Eaton Cummins's Endurant pages list no truck models. They say approval goes through the truck maker and Eaton Cummins, so ask the truck maker.

Sources for TX-12 vs Endurant HD

Choosing between TX-12 vs Endurant HD? Let a dispatcher help.

Grow Trucking finds loads, negotiates rates and does the paperwork for owner-operators and small fleets. Tell us what you haul and we will show you how a TX-12 vs Endurant HD truck fits the lanes we book.

Also: About Grow Trucking · Refer a carrier · Trucking blog

Ratings, intervals and warranty terms for TX-12 vs Endurant HD change by model year and configuration. Confirm exact figures for a specific truck against the makers' current documents and your written warranty before you buy or set a service schedule.